You retain all ownership rights to Content uploaded to Twitpic. However, by submitting Content to Twitpic, you hereby grant Twitpic a worldwide, non-exclusive, royalty-free, sublicenseable and transferable license to use, reproduce, distribute, prepare derivative works of, display, and perform the Content in connection with the Service and Twitpic’s (and its successors’ and affiliates’) business, including without limitation for promoting and redistributing part or all of the Service (and derivative works thereof) in any media formats and through any media channels.
Which is all well and good until something happens and you are there and take one of those photos which you then have no control over.
Oh, and deleting your Twitpics “the morning after the night before” may also no longer be enough to save your bacon:
You understand and agree, however, that Twitpic may retain, but not display, distribute, or perform, server copies of your media that have been removed or deleted. The above licenses granted by you in user comments you submit are perpetual and irrevocable.
Although we are assured that:
Deleted images are only accessed in the event of a legal issue.
I, for one, was unaware of these changes in Twitpic’s T&C’s, and I’m unimpressed.
Having been a loyal Twitpic user since I joined twitter, I will now be on the lookout for an alternative.